An exhibition by Ute and Bettina Frevert, published by the “Remembrance, Responsibility and Future” Foundation (EVZ) and the “Federal Foundation for the Study of Communist Dictatorship in East Germany”, under the auspices of the German Foreign Minister, Heiko Maas

An exhibition by Ute and Bettina Frevert, published by the “Remembrance, Responsibility and Future” Foundation (EVZ) and the “Federal Foundation for the Study of Communist Dictatorship in East Germany”, under the auspices of the German Foreign Minister, Heiko Maas

Our politics are increasingly driven by emotions, so it would seem. We are living in an age of permanent agitation. Facts are being called into question by perceived truths. Radicals of every description are attracting more and more attention with simple answers to complex questions. The political centre often does not know how to deal with heated emotions. It is characterised by the political culture of the old Federal Republic, where the need for sobriety prevailed.

This is where the exhibition entitled The Power of Emotions. Germany 19 | 19 comes in, which has been created by Ute and Bettina Frevert for the “Remembrance, Responsibility and Future” Foundation (EVZ) and the Federal Foundation for the Study of Communist Dictatorship in East Germany. The exhibition takes an emotional-historical perspective to look back at the last 100 years and illustrates the political and social impact of fear, hope, love and rage.

The Power of Emotions. Germany 19 | 19 takes present-day manifestations of 20 emotions as a starting point and shows how these have developed during the 20th century: conjunctures, change and continuities. In the 2019 year of remembrance, the exhibition will demonstrate continuities and gaps in the emotions that have shaped the last 100 years, the intensity of which is now presenting a challenge for politics and society. Read more

The exhibition is made up of 22 panels and can be ordered as a poster set in DIN A1 format for a nominal fee of €30. Go to order form

The Power of Emotions. Germany 19 | 19 is available in the original German as well as in Arabic, English, French, Russian and Spanish. Other languages can also be commissioned. It can also be produced in a number of other formats and finishes. Further information

Eine Ausstellung von Ute und Bettina Frevert, herausgegeben von der Stiftung «Erinnerung, Verantwortung und Zukunft» und der Bundesstiftung zur Aufarbeitung der SED-Diktatur, unter der Schirmherrschaft von Bundesaußenminister Heiko Maas

Eine Ausstellung von Ute und Bettina Frevert, herausgegeben von der Stiftung «Erinnerung, Verantwortung und Zukunft» und der Bundesstiftung zur Aufarbeitung der SED-Diktatur, unter der Schirmherrschaft von Bundesaußenminister Heiko Maas

Unsere Politik wird, so scheint es, zunehmend von Gefühlen bestimmt. Wir leben in Zeiten der Daueraufgeregtheit. Fakten werden durch gefühlte Wahrheiten infrage gestellt. Radikale aller Couleur finden mit einfachen Antworten auf komplexe Fragen immer mehr Zuspruch. Die politische Mitte weiß mit den aufgeheizten Emotionen oft nichts anzufangen. Sie ist von der politischen Kultur der alten Bundesrepublik geprägt, in der das Gebot der Nüchternheit galt.

Hier setzt die Ausstellung Die Macht der Gefühle. Deutschland 19 | 19 an, die Ute und Bettina Frevert für die Stiftung „Erinnerung, Verantwortung und Zukunft“ (EVZ) und die Bundesstiftung zur Aufarbeitung der SED-Diktatur erarbeitet haben. Die Schau wählt eine emotionsgeschichtliche Perspektive auf die vergangenen 100 Jahre und verdeutlicht die politische und gesellschaftliche Wirkungsmacht von Angst, Hoffnung, Liebe oder Wut.

Die Macht der Gefühle. Deutschland 19 | 19 nimmt heutige Erscheinungsformen von 20 Emotionen zum Ausgangspunkt und zeigt deren historische Entwicklung im 20. Jahrhundert auf: Konjunkturen, Wandel und Kontinuitäten. Im Erinnerungsjahr 2019 wird die Ausstellung Kontinuitäten und Brüche in den Gefühlswelten veranschaulichen, die die vergangenen 100 Jahre prägten und deren Intensität heute Politik und Gesellschaft herausfordert. Weiter lesen

Die 22 Tafeln umfassende Ausstellung kann als Poster-Set im Format DIN A1 gegen eine Schutzgebühr von 30 € bestellt werden.Zur Bestellung

Die Macht der Gefühle. Deutschland 19 | 19 ist auf Englisch, Französisch, Spanisch und Russisch erhältlich. Weitere Sprachfassungen können in Auftrag gegeben werden. Zudem besteht die Möglichkeit, zahlreiche weitere Formate und Ausführungen anfertigen zu lassen. Weitere Informationen